[April 22, 2021 outage] Rainbow Six Siege 'servers connection error' issue being looked into, says Ubisoft

This story is being continuously updated…. New updates are being added at the bottom…..

Click/tap to view old updates

Original story (from October 09) follows:

Just in case you’re trying to get your head around why Rainbow Six Siege is throwing ‘server connection error’? Well, if so, find solace in the fact that you aren’t the only one facing issues lately.

A quick look at micro-blogging site Twitter conveys there are many other affected by the same issue. Going by user reports, the latest update patch Y4S3.2 created some issue. Here are some reports:

@UbisoftSupport Since the new @Rainbow6Game update today on PC I can not connect into a multiplayer match, and after I join a lobby I get disconnected and receive a “Rainbow Six Siege server connection error”. Do you know any other player facing this issue?
source

Due to the new patch I got a bug that my Rainbow Six Siege thinks its offline most of the time. And when its online and I try to connect to a custom lobby it loads a bit and my r6 goes offline again. Any Solution ?
@Rainbow6Game @UbisoftSupport @kurtextrem :D?
source

@Rainbow6Game
are servers down?
source

Down detector also conveys the service is encountering a glitch, as can be seen in the live outage map below:

Rainbow-Six-Siege

While complains continue proliferating, what’s relieving is that Ubisoft support just acknowledged the glitch saying:

We’re aware of the issues affecting connectivity with Rainbow Six: Siege and are working towards resolving this ASAP

RainbowSixSiege-server-issue-tweet1

However, there’s no ETA for the fix as yet. Rest assured, we’re keeping a continuous tab on all related developments, and will update this page with relevant info as and when we come across any. So in case you’re encountering the problem discussed here, stay hooked for updates.

Update 1 (Oct 09)

Rainbow Six Siege connectivity glitch has been resolved.

Update 2 (Oct 09)

A scheduled maintenance will be conducted today with an estimated downtime of 20 minutes.

?️ Maintenance today for the Y4S3.2 Patch ?️

Console only
PS4: 9:00 EST / 13:00 UTC
XB1: 10:00 EST / 14:00 UTC
Estimated Downtime: 20 Minutes

Update 3 (Oct 09)

The 3.2 update for consoles has been delayed.

Update 4 (Oct 22)

Live server maintenance (Y4S3.3) has been scheduled for today, with an estimated downtime of 20 minutes.

?️Maintenance today for Y4S3.3?️

PC: 09:00 EST / 13:00 UTC
PS4 10:00 EST / 14:00 UTC
XB1 11:00 EST / 15:00 UTC

Estimated Downtime: 20 Minutes

Update 5 (Dec 10)

A maintenance with an estimated downtime of about an hour has been scheduled for today.

?️ Scheduled Maintenance?️

There will be routine infrastructure maintenance today, 10th December.

All Platforms.
PC / XB1 / PS4 : 8:00 EST / 13:00 UTC
Estimated Downtime: 1 Hour

Update 6 (Dec 11)


Maintenance has been scheduled for today to deploy the update patch Y4S4.1 on PC.

?️ Y4S4.1 Patch Update?️

The 4.1 patch will be deployed today on PC only, Console will follow next week.

Time: 13:30 EST / 18:30 UTC
Downtime: 20 Minutes

?? XB1 & PS4 Servers
✔️ Various Bug Fixes.

Update 7 (Dec 16)

A maintenance has been scheduled for today.

?️ Scheduled Maintenance?️

There will be routine infrastructure maintenance today, Monday 16th December.

Platform: PC Only
Time: 10:00 EST / 15:00 UTC
Estimated Downtime: 30 Minutes

Update 8 (Dec 17)

Consoles will undergo a maintenance to receive the latest patch i.e. Y4S4.1.

?️ Y4S4.1 Console Patch ?️

The 4.1 patch will be deployed today, Tuesday 17th December on console.

PS4: 09:00 EST / 14:00 UTC
XB1: 10:00 EST / 15:00 UTC
Estimated Downtime: 20 Minutes

Update 9 (Dec 18)

Maintenance with a downtime of about 20 minutes has been scheduled for PC players.

?️ Scheduled Maintenance ?️

There will be routine maintenance today, 19th December.

Platform: PC Only
Time: 9:00 EST / 14:00 UTC
Estimated Downtime: 20 Minutes

Update 10 (Dec 23)

Maintenance has been scheduled for today.

?️ Scheduled Maintenance ?️

There will be routine infrastructure maintenance on PC today, 23rd December.

Platform: PC Only
Time: 8:00 EST / 13:00 UTC
Estimated Downtime: 15 Minutes

Update 11 (Dec 23)

A maintenance is lined up for console players as well.

?️ Console Maintenance

There will be an additional maintenance for console this morning!

PS4: 8:30 AM EST (STARTING NOW!)
XB1: 8:45 AM EST

Approx. 15 minutes downtime for each. Apologies for the short notice!

Update 12 (Jan 15)

Maintenance has been scheduled for the deployment of update Y4S4.2 – with a downtime of about half an hour – on PS4.

?Y4S4.2 Patch for PS4?

The 4.2 patch we be deployed today, 15th January for Playstation 4.

Time: 8:00 EST / 13:00 UTC
Estimated Downtime: 25 Minutes

Full patch notes here?https://ubi.li/sTbgp

Update 13 (Feb 25)

A maintenance with a downtime of about 45 minutes has been scheduled for today.

? We will be performing a maintenance on #RainbowSixSiege today. No player facing changes.

Clock face two oclock Expected downtime : 45 minutes.

Personal computer On PC from 09:00 EDT / 14:00 UTC.
Video game On XBOX One from 10:00 EDT / 15:00 UTC.

Update 14 (Feb 25)

Maintenance has been extended for Xbox One.

Update 15 (Feb 27)

A maintenance with a downtime of about 30 minutes has been scheduled for today.

There will be routine infrastructure maintenance today, 27th February.

Uplay & Steam: 09:00 EST / 14:00 UTC
Estimated Downtime: 30 minutes

Update 16 (March 10)

Scheduled maintenance (Operation Void Edge) with a downtime of about an hour will begin in some time.

Hammer and wrenchOperation Void Edge Maintenance ReminderHammer and wrench

Maintenance will be starting in 1 hour, all details in the tweet below.

You will be able to download the Void Edge update after the 1 hour maintenance/downtime is complete.

Update 17 (March 20)

Unscheduled maintenance alert with a downtime of about half an hour.

? Unscheduled Maintenance – ALL PLATFORMS

Starting now, ranked will be deactivated until the maintenance is complete + you will not be able to queue for ranked.

Start: 1:00 PM EDT / 6:00 PM CET
Downtime: ~ 30 minutes

Update 18 (April 14)

Incoming is a scheduled maintenance alert with a downtime of about 2 hour for the deployment of update TU 2.0.3. Head here for detailed patch notes.

? We’ll be performing an update on #GhostReconBreakpoint today from 05:00 EST / 09:00 UTC to deploy TU 2.0.3!

Clock face two oclock Expected downtime: 2 hours.

Video game Platforms: PC

Update 19 (April 21)

Incoming is a maintenance alert with a downtime of about 20 minutes for the deployment of the update Y5S1.2 patch. Head here for the complete patch notes.

The Y5S1.2 patch will be deployed today, 21st April

Platform: PC
Time: 09:00 EDT / 13:00 UTC
Estimated Downtime: 20 minutes
The date for console will be announced soon.

Update 20 (June 04)

Connectivity and matchmaking issues in the game have been officially acknowledged and are being looked into, says Ubisoft support.

Update 20 (June 04)

Connectivity and matchmaking issues have been resolved.

We’re aware of the issues affecting connectivity and matchmaking in Rainbow Six: Siege and are working towards resolving this ASAP: https://ubi.li/Hq5FR

Update 21 (July 30)

Going by the reports surfacing on Twitter, it appears Rainbow Six Siege servers are down at the moment. Downdetector service also conveys the same.

Update 22 (April 22)

Connectivity issues on Raibow Six Siege (Play Station) and Hyper Space (Play Station and Xbox) have been officially Ubisoft support on Twitter:

We’re aware of an issue currently affecting connectivity on Rainbow Six: Siege on PlayStation and are working towards resolving this. We apologise for any inconvenience caused and appreciate your patience.

We’re aware of the issues affecting connectivity on Hyper Scape on PC, PlayStation & Xbox and are working towards resolving this ASAP

PiunikaWeb started as purely an investigative tech journalism website with main focus on ‘breaking’ or ‘exclusive’ news. In no time, our stories got picked up by the likes of Forbes, Foxnews, Gizmodo, TechCrunch, Engadget, The Verge, Macrumors, and many others. Want to know more about us? Head here.

Want to work for PiunikaWeb and enjoy best-in-industry compensation & benefits? You'll be glad to know we're hiring experienced candidates.

Dr. Aparajita Sharma

A budding entrepreneur by profession, and a psychologist by education. As a founding member of PiunikaWeb, I am nurturing this firstborn with my sharp-eyed expertise and even journalistic writing when needed.