Latest Google Photos update brings new delete confirmation notification (but why?)
Looks like Google has more time to add minor updates to its Photos app, rather then fixing the bugs plaguing it. Case in point: a new notification has been added that requests for user confirmation before deleting or moving pictures to trash. A minor, delete confirmation message-related change which has been rolled out on Android.
Basically on deleting an image, now you get to see the following confirmation message, where the text varies revealing that the pictures will be deleted from ‘Google account & synced devices’ or ‘all folders’ :
As was the case earlier, after deleting the image, an undo notification (like the one shown below) appears for a while, in case one wishes to reverse the course of action.
We are not sure what value this new feature brings to the table, reason being, earlier also a similar notification used to show up. It’s possible that the latter was not available to all users and with this latest change Google is trying to bring uniformity as far as this functionality is concerned.